A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Chaitra Navratri
Home city guide administration in jalpaiguri

Administration in Jalpaiguri

Efficient rural and urban administration is the backbone of any district so that there is proper implementation of resources and the smooth functioning of public affairs. The administrative bodies of Jalpaiguri within the state of West Bengal have well demarcated roles to ensure proper governance. Established in 1869, Jalpaiguri forms the largest district within North Bengal with its headquarters in Jalpaiguri town. The district of Jalpaiguri is also the North Bengal divisional headquarters.

Administrative Sub-Divisions of Jalpaiguri District

The Jalpaiguri district is governed by the District Collector, also known as District Magistrate (DM) appointed by the West Bengal Government. Jalpaiguri district is divided into three subdivisions for administrative purposes; Jalpaiguri Sadar subdivision, the Malbazar sub-division and Alipurduar sub-division. Sub-divisional Officer (SDO) manages the affairs within these units. These sub-divisions further consist of municipalities and community development blocks.

Jalpaiguri Sadar subdivision is composed of Jalpaiguri and Dhupguri municipalities as well as 4 community development blocks; Mainaguri, Jalpaiguri, Dhupguri and Rajganj. These blocks have 3 census towns and 62 gram panchayats under their administration. The headquarters of this sub-division is at Jalpaiguri. There are 14 gram panchayats under the Jalpaiguri block (CDB), 16 gram panchayats under Mainaguri block, 16 gram panchyats under Dhupguri block while 12 gram panchayats are under Rajganj community development block.

Malbazar sub-division or Mal sub-division contains the Malbazar Municipality besides 3 community development blocks, Mal, Nagrakata and Matiali. These blocks have 22 gram panchyats under their administration. A recently created sub-division, its headquarters are in Malbazar. These blocks do not have any urban area under them. There are 12 gram panchayats under the Mal block, 5 under Nagrakata, and 5 gram panchayats under the Metiali community development block.

Alipurduar sub-division under Jalpaiguri district is composed of Alipurduar municipality besides 6 community development blocks; Alipurduar-I, Alipuduar-II, Madarihat-Birpara, Kalchini, Falakata and Kumargram. There are 66 gram panchayats as well as 9 census towns under these 6 blocks. These census towns are Alipurduar Railway Junction, Paschim Jitpur, Chechakhata, Bholar Dabri, Jaigaon, Falapkata, Uttar Kamakhyaguri and Uttar Latabari. Both Alipurduar-I and Alipuduar-II have 11 gram panchayats under them, the Madarihat-Birpara block has 10 gram panchayats and Kalchini block has 11 gram panchayats under its rural area. The Falakata block has 12 gram panchayats and Kumargram has 11 gram panchayats under its rural administration.

Jalpaiguri Municipal Corporation (JMC)

Administration in Jalpaiguri
Jalpaiguri Municipal Corporation Office

The city of Jalpaiguri is administered by the Municipal Corporation which falls under the Jalpaiguri Metropolitan Region. The Jalpaiguri Municipal Corporation is one of the oldest municipalities within the state of West Bengal. It is supervised by a Chairman who is elected by the Jalpaiguri town residents. The Vice Chairman who is also in charge of tax and sanitation rests under him. This function is sub-divided under three Heads; the Chairman in Council for drinking water and  street light, the Chairman in Council for tax mobilization, sanitary and town development and the PWD Chairman in Council. The welfare, maintenance of the town, proper resource utilization and public property maintenance of Jalpaiguri are in the hands of this elected municipal body.

Some of the departments under the Jalpaiguri Municipality include PW establishment, sanitation, S.J.S.R.Y and poverty alleviation, public health and medical services including environment pollution control, cash department, water purification, storing and distribution, license department, education, market dept., assessment and general department which deals with legal matters, anti-corruption and vigilance, human resource development and other issues.
The Jalpaiguri municipal corporation has 26 wards from where the councillors are elected. Currently, the office of the chairman is headed by Mohan Bose and that of the vice-chairman is headed by Pinaki Sengupta. Jalpaiguri SDO is presently Seema Halder.

Siliguri Jalpaiguri Development Authority (SJDA)

Administration in JalpaiguriThis administrative body was established under the West Bengal Town and Country Act 1979. It was founded in the year 1980 and its first chairman was Sri B.C. Ghosh. It is the responsible for planning and development of the Jalpaiguri-Siliguri Planning Area. The key objective of SJDA includes real estate and infrastructural development in this region and providing facilities and incentives to investors.

Contact Details of SJDA

(In Jalpaiguri)

Address: King's Ghat, Jalpaiguri
Dist. Jalpaiguri, West Bengal, India - 735 101
Phone: +91 - 3561 - 230874

(In Siliguri)

Address: Tenzing Norgey Road, Pradhannagar
Siliguri, Dist. Darjeeling, West Bengal, India - 734 403
Phone: +91 - 353 - 2512922 / 2513784 / 2515647
E-mail: sjda@sify.com

Jalpaiguri Police

Administration in Jalpaiguri

Jalpaiguri Police is committed to maintenance of law and order, and crime prevention within the region of Jalpaiguri. It is headed by the Jalpaiguri District Superintendent of Police (or SP).

Jalpaiguri district has three sub-divisions and several police stations, and the officer heading the sub-division is called the Sub-divisional Police Officer (SDPO).

There are 16 police stations in the Jalpaiguri district. They fall under the following sub-divisions:

Police Stations under Jalpaiguri Sub Division

  • Rajganj Police Station
  • Kotwali Police Station
  • Maynaguri Police Station
  • Banarhat Police Station
  • Dhupguri Police Station

Police Stations under the Alipurduar Sub Division

  • Falakata Police Station
  • Kalchini Police Station
  • Madarihat Police Station
  • Alipurduar Police Station
  • Jaigaon Police Station
  • Kumargram Police Station
  • Birpara Police Station
  • Samuktala Police Station

Police Stations under Malbazar Sub Division

  • Malbazar Police Station
  • Nagrakata Police Station
  • Matteli Police Station

You may also like to visit

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries